Welcome to WIP Wednesday

Two posts in the same week (let alone consecutive days)… I can’t believe it! One of my crafty goals for 2013 was to be better about documenting my craft-ventures on my blog. So be ready for lots of ‘WIP Wednesday’ and ‘FO Friday’ posts.

For those of you who aren’t too familiar with knitter-speak, WIP is ‘Work-In-Progress’ and ‘FO is Finished Object’. So no, I’m not actually breaking out a whip on Wednesdays and I didn’t mean to type UFO Fridays (though some in the crafty-universe call their wip’s UFO’s, aka unfinished objects. For the sake of the blog I go with WIP since last i checked there isn’t a day that starts with ‘U.’ Confusing, I know. You’ll get the hang of it, I promise.)

Recently Danielle from A Stashed Addict posted on her facebook asking how many wips people have laying around. That got me thinking, just how many projects do I have on needles and hooks laying around the house. After some digging I’ve discovered 2 crochet projects and 4 knitting projects on needles and hooks around the house (I think there may be 2-3 more in the storage unit too!). So over the upcoming weeks I’ll be highlighting my work in the ‘WIP Wednesday’ feature.

Up this week is my current favorite WIP, my Fiddlehead Mittens. With some inspiration through the class at my favorite lys (that’s knitter-speak for local yarn shop) Knitwit Yarn Shop in Portland, ME, I decided to jump into more detailed color work and give these mittens a go.
IMG_20130120_210748

I’m using Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Couscous for the main color, Malabrigo Rios in Aguas for the coordinating color, and Suibui Knits Baby Alpaca DK in Suit for the lining. With the alpaca and merino wools these bad boys feel like a cloud, they’re so soft!

At time of publication I’ve got one shell totally done, and the second one just barely started. I think these should be done in the next few weeks, just in time for those late-winter New England cold snaps.

1359386433483

Thanks for stopping by, and Happy Knitting! knit.gif.pagespeed.ce.LRMYtQ35pD

One thought on “Welcome to WIP Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Happy FO Friday! « Jodi's Journey

Leave a Reply

